Print

 :: Water Solidarity Program in Ninh Binh province (2003-2010)

 

> Improving socio-sanitary conditions of Ninh Binh province’s people

In 2003, EAST Vietnam carried out surveys in several provinces located in the Red River delta, in order to assess water and sanitation needs of people living in the delta. EAST Vietnam decided to support the efforts of Ninh Binh province, 100 km south of Hanoi, in terms of access to clean water.

Ninh Binh province is not very wide. It is divided into 3 geographical zones: a mountainous zone, a paddy fields zone and a coastal delta. The province is divided into 145 communes, where almost one million people live. Most of them are farmers. Indeed, 86% of the population lives in rural area and earns its living from agriculture and forestry. The average income per person per year is about 200 €. In rural area, the average income falls to 150 €. The poverty is more important in the mountains, where some ethnic minorities live. In 2003, the inhabitants of about 100 communes did not have access to clean water. People used to rely on self supply by private wells, rainwater collection tanks or surface water. Sanitary conditions were particularly worrying and sanitation equipments were very poor.

In November 2003, a cooperation agreement was signed with the People’s Committee of Ninh Binh province. This agreement officially launched a several-year program: “Programme Solidarité Eau”, PSE (Water Solidarity Program). PSE benefits not only to the inhabitants of several rural communes, but also to the provincial services in charge of rural development in general, and water supply and sanitation in particular.

More precisely, PSE aims at improving the socio-sanitary conditions of people living in several communes in Ninh Binh province, by providing access to a community piped water supply system. Advocacy on best health and hygiene practices among both children and adults ought to strengthen change behavior.

At a provincial level, PSE aims at strengthening the capacities of public authorities in terms of O&M (Operation and Maintenance) and of water quality, in order to ensure the perennity of water supply plants in the whole province.

One third of PSE is financed by beneficiaries themselves, who pay for their individual connection to the piped water supply system. One other third is financed by Ninh Binh province (public finance). The last third is sponsored by French public water unions. EAST Vietnam implements the program, in collaboration with the provincial Department for Rural Development, and coordinates every stakeholder at every level: province, district, commune and village.

 

> Supplying Ninh Vân commune and Chi Phong village with water (2004-2006)
 
The first beneficiaries of the program in Ninh Binh province were Ninh Vân commune and Chi Phong village (Truong Yen commune), both located in Hoa Lu district.The projects in Ninh Vân and Chi Phong started in 2004 and were completed early 2006. In Chi Phong village, a water supply plant and a water pipeline system were built, supplying clean water to 1,330 people. The project in Ninh Vân enabled the construction of a water production plant and of a water pipeline system, providing about 10,000 people with clean water.

Throughout both projects, local mediators implemented IEC (Information Communication Education) activities in villages. These activities had a positive impact on connection rates. In Ninh Vân for instance, although connection to the water pipeline represents an important investment to most families, almost 80% of people paid their connection in the first month of operating. Besides, a sanitary survey was launched in Ninh Vân in 2007, one year after the end of the project, in order to assess the influence of health and sanitation IEC activities on purchasing showers and latrines with septic tanks.

 

 
 Image
Water outlet - Water supply plant - Some technical equipments in Ninh Vân
 
 Image
Chi Phong: Construction of the water supply plant - Maintenance of the plant - Laying the pipeline
 


> Supplying Yên Mac and Phu Lôc communes with water (2005-2007)
 
In 2005, EAST Vietnam and the People’s Committee of Ninh Binh selected two other beneficiary communes: Yên Mac, 8,000 inhabitants, located in Yen Mo district, and Phu Lôc, 7,000 inhabitants, located in Nho Quan district. The two new water supply plants were inaugurated in 2007, to the great joy of both communes’ people. Pupils of primary schools in Yên Mac and Phu Lôc could attend health education lessons throughout the school year. Indeed, EAST Vietnam provided primary schools with an educational learning method, which aims at teaching basic health and hygiene good practices. Both teachers and pupils particularly appreciate this very interactive method. Moreover, many IEC activities were organized throughout the year in both communes, in order to ensure the involvement of the community.

 

 
Image
 Setting up electric posts in Phu Lôc - Chemicals in Yên Mac – Construction of the plant in Phu Lôc
 
Image
Yên Mac and Phu Lôc water supply plants - One individual water meter
 
 
 
> Supplying Lang Phong commune with water (2006-2008)

Supplying Lang Phong commune with water (2006-2008)

In 2006, a fourth commune was selected: Lang Phong, in Nho Quan district. The project supplied clean water to homes of 5,000 inhabitants. Fifteen local mediators were trained in January 2007, subsequently information sessions were held and IEC personalized activities in households, in order to get people involved in the project. Moreover, pupils of Lang Phong primary school attended health education lessons at school.
 

 Image
Training IEC local mediators in Lang Phong
 
Image 
A health education lesson in Lang Phong primary school
 

 
> Supplying Gia Phu commune with water (2007-2010)
 
Gia phu is the last beneficiary commune of the program in Ninh Binh Province. This commune is part of Gia Vien district. The water facility was got underway on February the 2nd, 2010. Today, it supplies 6500 inhabitants, or more than 1500 families.

Throughout the duration of the project, an important part of IEC activities was informing the residents in the three villages of Gia Phu. Thirteen facilitators were trained to achieve this. The IEC activities carried out in Gia Phu created sustainable change.

The program also encourages inhabitants to get new latrines, bathrooms and paddocks for the animals. Ten hygienic latrines have been installed in each of the Gia Phu villages. This new equipment had to incite families to get best hygienic latrines.

In Gia Phu commune, sanitary blocs and water supply points have been put into service in the primary and secondary schools. Furthermore, sanitary education classes have been implemented to improve hygienic practices and childrens’ health. These classes are centered on latrine use, hand washing with soap, and garbage collection.
 
ImageImageImage 
Gia Phu Commune, school and water system
 
> Monitoring water quality at a provincial level
 
In 2004, during the first year of the program, EAST Vietnam contributed to the establishment of a laboratory for water analysis, in the premises of the department in charge of water supply and sanitation in Ninh Binh province: the Department for Rural Development. This laboratory aims at monitoring the quality of water produced in Ninh Binh province. It has been working for three years now. 4 laboratory assistants carry out frequent analysis campaigns to control the quality of water produced in the 52 water supply plants of the province. The assistants are also in charge of forwarding analysis results to the communes. EAST Vietnam supports closely the Department for Rural Development in its communication and advice methods: EAST encourages the Department to warn and advise the communes every time their results do not meet the norms. The issue of water quality, and more precisely drinking water quality, is very important to EAST. EAST keeps advocating for quality at every cooperation level (province, communes, and consumers). Quality is indeed one of the top challenges Vietnam will have to face in the coming years.
 
 Image
Monitoring the quality of water produced in Ninh Binh province

Version imprimable

 :: Le Programme Solidarité Eau dans la province de Ninh Binh
    (2003-2010)

 

> Améliorer les conditions socio-sanitaires des habitants de la province de Ninh Binh

En 2003, EAST Vietnam lance une enquête dans plusieurs provinces du delta du Fleuve Rouge, afin d’estimer les besoins en eau potable et en assainissement des populations vivant dans cette vaste plaine fluviale. EAST Vietnam décide alors d’appuyer les efforts de développement déployés dans la province de Ninh Binh, à une centaine de kilomètres au sud de Hanoi.

La province de Ninh Binh, relativement peu étendue, est divisée en trois zones géographiques : une zone montagneuse, une zone de rizières, un delta côtier. La province concentre 145 communes, où vivent près d’un million d’habitants, majoritairement agriculteurs. 86% de la population vit en effet en milieu rural et tire ses revenus de l’agriculture et de la sylviculture. En 2003, le revenu moyen par habitant est de l’ordre de 200€ par an, et tombe à moins de 150€ par an en zone rurale, avec une pauvreté plus marquée dans les zones montagneuses, où vivent certaines minorités ethniques. Les habitants d’une centaine de communes n’ont toujours pas accès à l’eau courante, et consomment l’eau des puits, des réservoirs d’eau de pluie (impluviums) ou des cours d’eau. Les conditions sanitaires des populations sont par ailleurs préoccupantes, et les systèmes d’assainissement sont très peu développés.

En novembre 2003, un accord de coopération est signé avec le Comité Populaire de la province de Ninh Binh. Cet accord officialise le lancement d’un vaste programme pluriannuel, le Programme Solidarité Eau (PSE), qui bénéficie à la fois aux habitants de plusieurs communes rurales, et aux services étatiques chargés de l’eau et du développement rural de la province.

Plus précisément, le Programme Solidarité Eau doit permettre l’amélioration des conditions socio-sanitaires des habitants de plusieurs communes de la province de Ninh Binh, via l’alimentation en eau potable des foyers et la promotion de meilleures pratiques d’hygiène et d’assainissement auprès des adultes et des enfants.

Au niveau provincial, le PSE vise à renforcer les capacités des services publics en matière de gestion et de suivi de la qualité de l’eau, et à assurer ainsi la pérennité des ouvrages hydrauliques de toute la province.

Le programme est financé à un tiers par les habitants eux-mêmes, qui paient leur connexion individuelle au réseau d’alimentation en eau potable, à un tiers par la province de Ninh Binh (fonds publics étatiques), et à un tiers par des financements publics français (collectivités territoriales). EAST Vietnam est chargé de la mise en œuvre du programme, en collaboration avec le Département du Développement Rural de la province de Ninh Binh, ainsi que de la coordination de l’ensemble des acteurs impliqués, aux niveaux provincial, du district, communal et villageois.

 

> L’arrivée de l’eau dans la commune de Ninh Vân et le village de Chi Phong (2004-2006)
 
Les premiers bénéficiaires du Programme Solidarité Eau dans la province de Ninh Binh furent la commune de Ninh Vân et le village de Chi Phong, commune de Truong Yên, dans le district de Hoa Lu .
Débutés en 2004, les deux volets ont été achevés au 1er trimestre 2006. Dans le village de Chi Phong, une station et un mini réseau d’adduction d’eau ont été construits pour alimenter les 1 330 habitants.  Le projet à Ninh Vân a, quant à lui, permis la construction d’une station de production d’eau potable et d’un réseau de distribution permettant l’alimentation d’environ 10 000 personnes.

Tout au long des deux projets, de nombreuses actions d’Information, d’Education et de Communication (IEC) ont été menées par des animateurs locaux auprès des habitants. Ces activités ont eu un impact direct sur les taux de connexion au réseau. Par exemple, bien que le branchement représente un investissement financier important pour les familles, près de 80% de la population était déjà connecté au réseau à Ninh Vân, dès le premier mois de fonctionnement de la station. En outre, une enquête sanitaire a été lancée dans cette commune en 2007, soit un an après la fin du projet. L’objectif est d’évaluer l’impact des actions de sensibilisation à l’hygiène et à l’assainissement sur l’acquisition de douches et de latrines à fosses septiques.

 

 
 Image
 La prise d’eau, la station et une partie des équipements de Ninh Vân
 
 Image
 Le chantier de la station de Chi Phong, la maintenance et la pose du réseau
 


> L’arrivée de l’eau dans les communes de Yên Mac et Phu Lôc (2005-2007)
 
En 2005, EAST Vietnam et le Comité Populaire de Ninh Binh choisissent deux nouvelles communes bénéficiaires du Programme Solidarité Eau : Yên Mac, district de Yen Mo, et Phu Lôc, district de Nho Quan, comptant respectivement près de 8 000 et 7 000 habitants. Les deux nouvelles stations d’alimentation en eau potable ont été inaugurées dans ces communes au cours du premier semestre 2007, pour la plus grande joie des habitants. Les écoliers des écoles primaires de Yên Mac et Phu Lôc ont bénéficié de cours d’éducation sanitaire selon la méthode pédagogique proposée par EAST Vietnam. Cette méthode, qui vise à enseigner aux enfants les règles d’hygiène de base, est très appréciée de tous : instituteurs et élèves prennent un réel plaisir à ces cours plus interactifs et plus ludiques. Comme dans chaque commune où nous intervenons, de nombreuses actions de sensibilisation ont également été organisées, afin d’impliquer davantage les bénéficiaires au projet.

 

 
Image
 La pose des poteaux électriques à Phu Loc, les produit chimiques à Yên Mac et le chantier de la station à Phu Lôc
 
Image
Les stations de Yên Mac et Phu Lôc et un des nombreux compteurs installés dans ces 2 communes
 
 
 
> L’arrivée de l’eau dans la commune de Lang Phong (2006-2008)

En 2006, une 4ème commune a été sélectionnée : Lang Phong, district de Nho Quan. Le projet a permis à 5 000 nouvelles personnes de recevoir une eau potable à domicile.
Une quinzaine d’animateurs y ont été formés en janvier 2007 et ont réalisés de nombreuses réunions d’information publiques, des actions de sensibilisation personnalisées à domicile, afin de mobiliser tous les habitants autour du projet. Les enfants ont bénéficiés en parallèle des cours d’éducation sanitaire à l’école.

 

 Image
La formation des animateurs IEC
 
Image 
Un cours d’éducation à l’hygiène dans l’école primaire de Lang Phong
 
 
> L'arrivée de l'eau dans la commune de Gia Phu (2007-2010)

Gia Phu est la dernière commune bénéficiaire du PSE II dans la province de Ninh Binh. Elle fait parti du district de Gia Vien. L’ouvrage a été réceptionné le 2 février 2010. Il alimente aujourd’hui 6 500 habitants, soit un peu plus 1 500 familles.

Sur toute la durée du projet, un volet IEC a permis de sensibiliser les habitants des 3 villages de la commune de Gia Phu pour les impliquer, les mobiliser et les associer aux différentes activités. Les actions menées s’inscrivent dans une véritable démarche participative afin de permettre un changement volontaire et durable des habitudes sanitaires des populations. Au total se sont 13 animateurs qui ont été formés.

Le projet a encouragé les habitants à s’équiper en latrines, salles de bains avec douches, puits perdus, enclos pour animaux ou, encore, égouts d'évacuation des eaux usées. Dix latrines modèles ont été financées. Chacun des villages de la commune a pu bénéficier de cette intervention. Ces équipements sont doivent inciter les familles à acquérir des latrines domestiques de bonne qualité.

Dans la commune de Gia Phu, des latrines hygiéniques et des points d’eau potable ont été mis en place, dans l’école primaire et le collège. En complément, des cours d’éducation sanitaires ont été menées dans les écoles pour améliorer les pratiques d’hygiène et de santé des enfants. Ces cours participatifs sont axés sur l’utilisation des latrines, le lavage des mains à l’eau et au savon, le ramassage des déchets…
 
ImageImageImage 
 Commune de Gia Phu, école et ouvrage AEP
 
> Le contrôle de la qualité de l’eau à l’échelle provinciale
 
Dès la première année d’exécution du programme, en 2004, EAST Vietnam a contribué à l’implantation d’un laboratoire d’analyses de l’eau, dans les locaux du Département du Développement Rural (DDR), le service provincial en charge de l’alimentation en eau potable de la province de Ninh Binh. Ce laboratoire, dédié au suivi de la qualité de l’eau des ouvrages de la province, fonctionne maintenant en routine. Les 4 laborantines effectuent régulièrement des campagnes d’analyses dans les 52 stations de la province, et transmettent les résultats aux communes. EAST Vietnam appuie étroitement le DDR pour que les communes soient mieux accompagnées et conseillées, en cas de non-conformité des résultats. La notion de qualité de l’eau et, plus exactement de potabilité de l’eau, est au cœur du discours de EAST à tous les niveaux de coopération (province, commune, consommateurs). C’est également un des grands défis du Vietnam sur les prochaines années.
 
 Image
Contrôle de la qualité de l’eau produite dans les stations de la province