Print
 :: Our school programs since 1994
 
 
 
 
Implementing activities in schools has always been essential to EAST Vietnam’s commitment for people living in difficult socio-sanitary conditions. Since its establishment in Vietnam in 1994, EAST has implemented 5 several-year school programs in 4 Vietnamese provinces. These programs benefited to pupils from 165 primary and secondary schools.

 

Image 1994-1997 :
South of Bac Thai province (became Thai Nguyen province in 1997), 60 schools in 6 districts

 

Image 1998-2001 :
Thai Nguyen province, 27 schools (1 district)

 

Image 2002-2004 :
Lam Dong province, 24 schools (3 districts)

        Nam Dinh province, 46 schools (3 districts)

 

Image 2004-2006 :
Ninh Binh province, 8 schools (1 district)
 
Every school program we implement aims at improving sanitary conditions in schools, in order to lower children’s water-related diseases. To achieve this objective, EAST Vietnam implements several complementary activities.
First of all, we provide schools with water supply and sanitation systems by improving drinking water systems, by building latrines with septic tanks, and by setting up cement pits for solid waste.

 

 Image
 Pupils in front of their new latrines and the new drinking water tap in the primary school in ChiPhong
 
 
Moreover, we train school teachers to a new and participative health education method. Based on the use of drawings and on the active participation of pupils, this method aims at teaching knowledge on water, hygiene rules and health to children. Conceptual lessons are completed by practical exercises, so that children can adopt best hygiene practices, as hand washing with soap.

 

 Image
 Health education lessons with children in Thai Nguyen province in 1999 (left picture), in Nam Dinh province in 2004 (central picture), and in Ninh Binh province in 2006 (right picture)
 
 Image
Drawings designed by EAST Vietnam and practical exercises in Nam Dinh province in 2003
 

Last but not least, in order to reinforce the supervision of children’s health within the school, a school infirmary equipped with basic medicines and small equipments is implemented or rehabilitated in each school. Moreover, school health agents are trained to basic interventions and to school medicines stock control. They have the responsibility of renewing the stock of medicines when needed, and they are able to provide children with basic medical care in case of light diseases or incidents. In case of more complicated troubles, they bring children to the communal dispensary.
 
 
Image
School health agent in Quang Lac school in front of the medicines storage

 

EAST Vietnam places special emphasis on implementing activities with children. On the one hand, children are more fragile and as a matter of fact, they are the firsts to suffer from bad sanitary conditions and non safe water consumption. Unfortunately, water-related or hygiene-related diseases are still a major cause for school absenteeism in many provinces in Vietnam, which prevents children from the benefits of an assiduous scholarship. On the other hand, EAST Vietnam enables the youth to understand the stakes related to water, hygiene and environment and implants good hygiene behaviors in schools. Thus, EAST Vietnam teaches children how to be tomorrow’s responsible adults. EAST Vietnam’s actions in schools are a bet on future, following a sustainable development approach, based on very-long term objectives.

Version imprimable
 :: Nos programmes scolaires depuis 1994
 
 
 
 
L’action en milieu scolaire est une constante dans l’engagement de EAST Vietnam en faveur des populations vivant dans des conditions socio-sanitaires difficiles. Depuis son implantation au Vietnam en 1994, EAST a ainsi mené 5 grands programmes scolaires pluriannuels dans 4 provinces vietnamiennes, bénéficiant aux enfants de 165 écoles primaires ou secondaires.

 

Image 1994-1997 :
Sud de la province de Bac Thai, devenu Thai Nguyen en 1997, 60 écoles (6 districts)

 

Image 1998-2001 :
Province Thai Nguyen, 27 écoles (1 district)

 

Image 2002-2004 :
Province de Lam Dong, 24 écoles (3 districts)

        Province de Nam Dinh, 46 écoles (3 districts)

 

Image 2004-2006 :
Province de Ninh Binh, 8 écoles (1 district)
 
Chacun des programmes scolaires mis en place par EAST vise à améliorer les conditions sanitaires dans les écoles, afin de favoriser le recul des maladies de l’enfant. Pour y parvenir, EAST Vietnam développe plusieurs types d’activités complémentaires.
Nous commençons tout d’abord par favoriser l’accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement des enfants dans leur école en installant des points d’eau potable, en construisant des latrines à fosses septiques, et en installant des fosses à ordures cimentées pour la collecte de déchets.

 

 Image
 Des élèves posant fièrement devant le nouveau bloc sanitaire et le nouveau point d’eau de l’école de Chi Phong
 
 
Parallèlement, nous formons les instituteurs à une méthode interactive d’éducation sanitaire. Basée sur l’utilisation de dessins et sur la participation active des élèves, cette méthode vise à apporter aux élèves, de manière régulière et systématique, des connaissances sur l’eau, les règles d’hygiène et la santé. Les enseignements théoriques sont complétés par des travaux pratiques qui permettent aux enfants d’adopter de meilleures habitudes d’hygiène, comme le lavage systématique des mains au savon.

 

 Image
 De gauche à droite : cours d’éducation avec des enfants de la province de Thai Nguyen en 1999, de celle de Nam Dinh en 2004 et des enfants de la province de Ninh Binh en 2006
 
 Image
 Les supports de cours réalisé par EAST Vietnam et les exercices pratiques dans la province de Nam Dinh en 2003
 

Enfin, le suivi de la santé des élèves au sein de l’école est renforcé par la création ou l’amélioration, quand elle existe déjà, d’une infirmerie scolaire équipée d’une pharmacie comportant médicaments et instruments d’intervention de base. Un agent de santé scolaire est par ailleurs formé, et c’est à lui que revient la responsabilité de renouveler le stock de médicaments, d’assurer les premiers soins aux enfants pour les maladies simples, ou d’acheminer les enfants au dispensaire en cas de trouble plus sérieux.
 
 
Image
 Agent de santé scolaire de l’école de Quang Lac devant la pharmacie de l’infirmerie

 

Intervenir auprès des enfants est une priorité forte de l’association. D’une part, parce que les enfants sont les premiers à subir les conséquences de mauvaises conditions sanitaires et de consommation d’eau insalubre, tout simplement parce qu’ils sont les plus fragiles. Les maladies liées au manque d’hygiène sont malheureusement une cause importante d’absentéisme scolaire dans de nombreuses provinces du Vietnam, privant les enfants des bénéfices d’une scolarité assidue. D’autre part, parce qu’en permettant à la jeunesse d’aujourd’hui de mieux comprendre les enjeux liés à l’eau, à l’hygiène, et à l’environnement, et en ancrant à l’école des comportements sanitaires adaptés, on prépare les adultes de demain. Les actions de EAST Vietnam en milieu scolaire sont un pari sur l’avenir, dans une logique de développement durable, sur le très long terme.